(Restricted to University of Illinois users.)
Citations are drawn from alternative, radical, and left publications, that report and analyze the practices and theories of cultural, economic, political, and social change.
A bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index
A multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities.
Includes the collection of the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture of the New York Public Library and G.K. Hall's Index to Black Periodicals. Indexed material covers Africa and the African diaspora.
Searchable index provides researchers with access to the 14-volume printed work originally published by the University of Illinois Press
Champaign County Historical & Genealogical Index (Urbana Free Library)
The index provides access to a massive amount of information on Champaign County people, places, and events.
Educational Resources Information Center (ERIC)
Largest education database in the world, covering research documents, journal articles, technical reports, program descriptions and evaluations, and curricular materials in the field of education.
Hispanic American Periodicals Index
Provides bibliographic citations to articles and reviews pertaining to Central and South America, Mexico, the Carribean, and Hispanics in the U.S.
Coverage of the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada.
Modern Language Association International Bibliography (MLA)
Indexes articles from scholarly journals, theses, proceedings, and books on literature, language and folklore.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
Offers broad, international coverage of all types of scholarly research.
Social Sciences Citation Index
A multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the social sciences.
Accesses research sponsored in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
A bibliography to over 8,000 African-American artists. Updates the print reference source 250 Years of Afro-American Art: An Annotated Bibliography.
This abridged and updated edition of the acclaimed Oxford Companion to African American Literature presents more than 400 biographies of authors, critics, literary characters, and historical figures, and 150 plot summaries of major works.
A bio-bibliographical guide to current writers in fiction, general nonfiction, poetry, journalism, drama, motion pictures, television, and other fields.
Contemporary Literary Criticism Select
Provides an extensive collection of critical essays on contemporary writers.
Database of African American Poetry
Covers the works of 54 African-American poets writing in the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries.
Dictionary of Literary Biography
Provides biographical and critical studies written by scholars and academics, bibliographic information about each author's writings, and sources for further reading.
Encyclopedia Britannica Online includes the complete encyclopedia, as well as Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, Britannica Student Encyclopedia and the Britannica Book of the Year.
This database meets research needs across all academic disciplines. Accesses scholarly journals, magazines and newspapers. Over 3000 journals are indexed, with links to the full text for over half of the journals.
Includes searchable full-text for backfile articles in the Journal of Black Studies, Journal of Negro Education, Journal of Negro History, Negro American Literature Forum, Phylon (1960-), Transition, Black American Literature Forum, Callaloo, Phylon (1940-1956), Phylon Quarterly, African American Review, and Journal of Blacks in Higher Education.
New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians
Includes coverage of world, jazz, popular and 20th-century music. Contains the full-text of the 29 volume print edition and includes over 29,000 articles and 25 million words.
Online periodical archive of back files of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences. The scope is worldwide and includes journals in English, German, Italian, French, Spanish and other Western languages.
Provides access to the full text of over 100 scholarly journals in arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics.
Twentieth Century African-American Poetry
A collection of poetry written by the most important and influential African American poets of the twentieth century. Presently includes over 6,000 poems from over 100 complete editions by 46 poets.
African American Newspapers (19th Century)
Primary Source Material from 18th & 19th Century Periodicals.
Black Drama provides access to English-language plays written by black authors from North America, the Caribbean, and Africa between 1850 and the present. There is a concentration of materials from the Harlem Renaissance, modern African American authors, and 20th Century African playwrights.
Features the 3-volume Encyclopedia of African American History 1619-1895, the 3-volume Black Women in America encyclopedia, the 5-volume Africana encyclopedia of the African and African American experience, and selected articles from other reference works. Also includes bibliographies, timelines, maps, image collections, and key primary source documents.
Combines several resources for research and teaching in Black Studies: Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP), historical black newspapers, and the Black Literature Index.
Black Thought and Culture is a single source for the published works of numerous historically important black leaders. Along with well-known works, the collection features approximately 5,000 pages of unique, fugitive, and never-before-published materials. When complete, Black Thought and Culture will provide approximately 100,000 pages of monographs, essays, articles, speeches, and interviews written by leaders within the black community from the earliest times to 1975.
Identifies doctoral dissertations from U.S. & Canadian institutions. Abstracts from 1980. Full text access CIC university dissertations (including UIUC) available in PDF digital format from 1997.
A full-text collection of newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic and minority U.S. press.
Historical Chicago Defender (1905-1975)
The Chicago Defender (1905-1975) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
New York Times (1851-1999)
The ProQuest historical archive of The New York Times is a digital reproduction of every issue from cover to cover-not, just the news stories and editorials, but also the photos, graphics, and advertisements.
The Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade: A Database on CD-ROM
Contains the records of 27,233 trans-Atlantic slave ship voyages made between 1595 and 1866.
Statistical Abstracts (U.S. Census Bureau)
African Americans:
-- Businesses
-- Minority Links
-- People