Big bluestem (Andropogon gerardii). Photo by Michael R. Jeffords, INHS
space
INHS LIBRARY
bison We've migrated! VISIT OUR NEW HOME
About the Library
INHS Library News
Library Services
Info for INHS Staff
space
ONLINE CATALOGS
UIUC Library
I-Share
Other Libraries
space
JOURNAL RESOURCES
Full Text E-Journals
Article Databases
INHS Journals
INHS Library Databases
space
INTERLIBRARY LOAN
Loan Requests
WorldCat
INHS Copy Service
space
E-RESOURCES
UIUC References
Electronic Maps
Electronic Books
INHS Resources
Search Engines
UIUC Dept Libraries
space

HOW TO

Renew Materials
Find articles
Find books
Find dissertations
Interlibrary loan
Research Guides
Instruction Guides
space
space

Search UIUC Library
Search WWW
powered by powered by google
INHS Library Databases
space
space

Critical Trends Assessment Program (CTAP) Bibliography | Illinois Flora
INHS Staff Bibliography
| INHS Technical Reports
Taxonomic Web Sites

The resources listed above have been created and maintained by INHS Library Staff, and are all openly available for anyone to use. Click names above for descriptions.

With the exception of Taxonomic Websites, the databases do not contain or link to full text of the items cited. The INHS Technical Reports database contains links to UIUC Catalog records for those reports that have been cataloged; full text of the Technical Reports is not available at this time. Use UIUC Library's Online Research Resources and the UIUC Online Catalog to find cited items in the UIUC Libraries. Please contact us if you would like help using these resources or locating cited items, or if you note errors in database records.

Critical Trends Assessment Program (CTAP) Bibliography

Documents from the Illinois Critical Trends Assessment Program. Includes the Area Assessment reports for the 33 Illinois regions assessed, the region inventories published by the Illinois Department of Natural Resources, land cover mapping project reports, general CTAP program reports, and EcoWatch documents. Records include UI call numbers, and links to catalog records. Most documents are held in the INHS Library.
Search CTAP bibliography

Illinois Flora

The database holds the 1,275 citations from Bibliography of Illinois Vegetation by Paul Risser (1984), published as INHS Biological Note no. 121. Covers the literature describing the plant communities throughout Illinois from the ~100 years prior to publication. Not updated.

To search Illinois Flora, click and select Illinois Flora.pdt.
See below for search tips and instructions on exporting records from the database.

INHS Staff Bibliography, 1870 - Present

A near comprehensive bibliography of publications (articles, books, book chapters, and conference proceedings) by INHS researchers from 1870 to the present. Also includes some items about early INHS staff. The INHS Library maintains copies of article reprints through the 1980s, which are available for in-house use. Most items are included in UIUC Library collections. Discover buttons which appear with search results lead to full text or print copies in the UIUC Library when these are available. Contains more than 7,500 citations as of August 2007; updated regularly. (Formerly the INHS Reprints database.)
Search INHS Staff Bibliography in RefWorks.

Also see,
Stephen Alfred Forbes Bibliography
Theodore Henry Frison Bibliography

INHS Technical Reports

INHS Technical Reports are authored by INHS scientists for the purpose of documenting the status, stewardship, conservation, and restoration of Illinois’ biotic resources. The reports are used by INHS, the Department of Natural Resources, and various granting agencies to assess needs and formulate policy. Reports may originate from any of the INHS centers and field stations. The collection comprises more than 1250 reports as of April 2007, and most are owned only by the INHS Library. Copies are kept at the INHS Library and are available for in-house use, with a few exceptions. More than 300 reports have been cataloged and are available for request/check out via the UI Library catalog or via I-Share. Records for cataloged items include call numbers and links to catalog records. Some reports, notably the INHS Human Dimensions Program reports are available online, and database records provide links to online reports when available. Digitization of reports from 1962-2006 is currently underway. Our new RefWorks interface features an author and county index. Updated regularly.
Search INHS Technical Reports in RefWorks.

 

Taxonomic Web Sites

This database contains more than 200 web sites (as of May 2006). Records include the name of the database (title), the URL or link to the database, a brief abstract describing the database, and keywords. The keywords used are: annelids, arachnids, botany, classification systems, conferences, crustaceans, entomology, herpetology, ichthyology, information sharing, Internet resources, invertebrates, mammalogy, mollusks, museums, mycology, organizations, ornithology, publications, special status species resources, species information resources, species Internet resources, and species lists.

Searching "all indexed fields" will find information in the title or keywords fields. Searching "all non-indexed fields" will find info in the URL or abstract.

To search Taxonomic Websites, click and select taxonomy web sites.pdt
See below for additional search tips and instructions on exporting records from the database.

 

Reference WebPoster Help

Search Tips

The default is an all-database search in "advanced search" mode. To search only one database, choose it from the drop-down menu near the top of the search window.

In advanced search, fields available for searching are:

  • author
  • title
  • periodical (source publication name, e.g., Journal of Parasitology),
  • year (of publication)
  • keywords
  • all indexed fields, which finds terms in any indexed database field (i.e., author, title, periodical, year, keywords).
  • all nonindexed fields, which finds terms in any nonindexed database field (including abstract, notes, volume, issue, and page numbers).

Select the desired fields using the "field to search" pull down menu. It is possible to combine multiple search criteria with Boolean operators (and, or, not).

In results lists, click on the page icon next to the citation to see the complete record in the database.

Exporting Records

To export records, records must be marked. Select desired records by clicking the checkboxes associated with them.

Marked records are not saved from search to search. Export all desired records from one search before conducting another search.

Marked references may be exported to a Reference Manager, a ProCite database, EndNote. They may also be exported as tagged text files which can be imported into Refworks or other citation management utilities. *A maximum of 350 references can be exported at one time.

1. Export marked references directly to Reference Manager 7/8/9 or ProCite 3/4/5. In order to complete this direct export, you must install a free export plug-in for Windows. For Reference Manager, go to http://www.refman.com/support/rmisihelper.asp. For ProCite, go to http://www.procite.com/support/pcisihelper.asp.

2. You have the option to save marked references to a tagged text file formatted in the National Library of Medicine MEDLARS format. This format primarily supports journal reference types.

3. You can also save marked references to a tagged text file formatted in an RIS format. This format maintains all character formatting (such as bold, italics, etc.) included in the original reference and supports 35 reference types. Then use Reference Manager, ProCite, EndNote, or any other bibliographic management program to import this text file into a database.

Created: 02/26/04 af
Last Updated: 07/18/08 smb



University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Library Gateway Homepage
Send Questions and Comments to: INHS Librarian.
Illinois Natural History Survey